This site uses cookies from Google to deliver its services, to personalize ads and to analyze traffic. Information about your use of this site is shared with Google. By using this site, you agree to its use of cookies. Accept

The FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) has been a fruitful competition for ŠKODA in recent years, and the FABIA R5 is looking to extend the winning streak to a sixth year.

The APRC is the FIA’s flagship rally championship in the Asia-Pacific region and sees teams take on five challenging rounds in locations across the region. To be eligible to win the overall title and appear in the final classification at the end of the season, drivers and teams are required to compete in all five rallies.

There are also separate championships for drivers, co-drivers, teams, juniors and manufacturers as well as an APRC2 (for Group N cars) and APRC3 (for 2WD cars). In 2017, Alternative Energy Vehicles (AEVs – which are defined as cars which source propulsion energy from two or more sources) are also eligible to compete in the APRC with a chance to win the APRC Alternative Energy Vehicle (AEV) Cup.

After four consecutive championship titles for the FABIA S2000 between 2012 and 2015, last year saw the FABIA R5 storm to victory with Indian driver Gaurav Gill winning all six rallies in a dominant season. Once again, the FABIA R5 runs in 2017 under the banner of the ŠKODA MRF team, with the vehicles being prepared and run by Race Torque Engineering.

On this page, you will find more details about each round, as ŠKODA looks for more FABIA R5 success in the 2017 Asia-Pacific Rally Championship.


  • Championship articles

  • aprc-canberra-oc-veiby-wins-skoda-mrf-ahead-teammate-gaurav-gill

    APRC Canberra: OC Veiby wins for ŠKODA MRF ahead of teammate Gaurav Gill

    Second rally in Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC), same story: ŠKODA MRF teams Ole Christian Veiby / Stig Rune Skjaermœn and Gaurav Gill / Stéphane Prévot were fighting right from the start for the victory. On the first day of the event, the lead changed several times between the two ŠKODA MRF drivers. On leg two OC Veiby pulled away and secured his maiden APRC victory.

    Read more
  • aprc-new-zealand-gaurav-gill-wins-rally-whangarei-ahead-oc-veiby

    APRC New Zealand: Gaurav Gill wins Rally of Whangarei ahead of OC Veiby

    ŠKODA MRF Teams Ole Christian Veiby / Stig Rune Skjaermœn and Gaurav Gill / Stéphane Prévot were engaged in a fierce battle right from the start of the Rally of Whangarei. Reigning champion Gaurav Gill, this time paired with co-driver Stéphane Prévot, was fastest on the opening short “Super Stage”. During the first leg the Norwegian rookie team Ole Christian Veiby / Stig Rune Skjaermœn took the lead. On the third but last stage, Veiby had a technical issue, after a roadside repair incurred a time penalty and dropped to second place behind teammate Gill. The two-time champion finally secured victory on the opening round of the APRC 2017.

    Read more
  • photo-skoda-mrf-rally-whangarei-2017

    PHOTO: ŠKODA MRF at the Rally of Whangarei 2017

    This weekend (28th to 30 April) sees the return of the FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) with the International Rally of Whangarei in New Zealand, a gravel event which consists of 16 stages and a total of 263 km of competitive distance.

    Read more

Latest media