The Rally of Whangarei marks the opening round of the Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC), a championship which ŠKODA has dominated in recent seasons, winning four titles in a row with the ŠKODA Fabia S2000.

This years’ event is only the second APRC rally for the ŠKODA Fabia R5 after winning its first event in this championship, Rally China 2015.

Experienced Indian driver Gaurav Gill is once again driving for the ŠKODA MRF team. The 2013 APRC Champion is supported by his long-time Australian co-driver Glenn Macneall. Also taking part are newcomers Fabian Kreim and co-driver Frank Christian who have made a strong start to the season in Europe.

The rally itself is a sixteen stage gravel event comprising around 280 km of competitive rallying, and is held in the stunning Whangarei District on the north-east point of New Zealands’ North Island.

And you can enjoy all the latest action with our exclusive gallery.