ŠKODA in the Czech Rally Championship

The Czech Rally Championship is the most prestigious rallying series in the Czech Republic. And as the home country of ŠKODA Motorsport, Czech Rally Championship is particularly close to our hearts, as well as one in which we have enjoyed a considerable amount of recent success.

[fb-msg-optin msg=”optin!”]


[fb-msg-optin-shoutcast msg=”shoutcast” channel=”14667″]

ŠKODA Motorsport driver Jan Kopecký, along with his fellow Czech co-driver Pavel Dresler, are the reigning champions having performed almost faultlessly in the 2015 championship. The pair won all five events last year to claim a dominant championship victory. In their successful campaign, they run ŠKODA Fabia R5, which made its debut in the opening round of 2015 Czech Rally Championship.

They had previously won the title back in 2012 in the ŠKODA Fabia S2000. With Kopecký having also won the title in 2004 and other drivers with ŠKODA cars won the championship in 2000, 2001, 2010 and 2011, we have a rich and proud tradition in our home championship and it is one we are keen to continue.

The championship itself has a number of classifications, with an overall winner, as well as 2WD vehicles, and 2-13 classes all represented. World Rally Cars are also permitted to take part within Group S, but only those homologated before 2006.

Points are awarded for drivers who finish between 1st and 15th in each class, as well as for every car finishing in the top ten in each leg. At the end of the season, each team is allowed to drop their two worst performances from their overall result.

The 2016 championship consists of six rounds, the Rallye Šumava Klatovy, the Rallye Český Krumlov, the Rally Hustopeče, the Rally Bohemia, the Barum Czech Rally Zlín, and the Rally Příbram. Points from the Barum Czech Rally Zlín will be worth 50% more than the other events.

The title of Czech Rally Champion is awarded to the winning driver and his co-driver, but the co-driver must have participated in more than half of the qualifying rounds to be eligible to win the title.

This year we are delighted that Jan Kopecký and Pavel Dresler will be back to defend their title in the ŠKODA and we will be hoping for some more notable victories for the duo as the championship unfolds.