GET RALLY NEWSinto your Messenger

ŠKODA is looking back on its so far most successful year in motorsport. Pontus Tidemand / Jonas Andersson won the WRC2 category of the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC), while ŠKODA Motorsport took the WRC 2 manufacturers title. Multiple Czech Champions spearheaded the group of ŠKODA teams which in 2017 won in total 14 national championships. Furthermore, the FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC), the FIA Middle East Rally Championship (MERC), the FIA South American Rally Championship (CODASUR), the FIA African Rally Championship (ARC) and the U28 category of the FIA European Rally Championship (ERC) were won by crews competing in a ŠKODA FABIA R5. In 2018 ŠKODA Motorsport will field its youngest driver squad ever in the world championship’s WRC2 category.

​ŠKODA is looking back at the most successful motorsport season in its 116 years long history. On the occasion of a ceremony at Mladá Boleslav ŠKODA Motorsport today honoured the successful drivers and co-drivers, led by the WRC2 champions Pontus Tidemand and Jonas Andersson, the APRC winners Gaurav Gill and Stéphane Prévot and the Czech Rally Champions Jan Kopecký / Pavel Dresler.

Bernhard Maier
ŠKODA FABIA R5, the winning season 2017

Not only in the FIA World Rally Championship, in numerous international and national championships as well the ŠKODA FABIA R5 drove from victory to victory during the 2017 season. The ŠKODA FABIA R5 by far was the most successful rally car of the so-called R5 category of close to standard cars.

Christian Strube
ŠKODA MRF Team at Asia-Pacific Rally Championship 2017

Amongst the international and national championships won in 2017 by ŠKODA teams the FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) stands out. Factory supported team MRF ŠKODA entered defending champions Gaurav Gill / Stéphane Prévot and Norwegian Youngsters Ole Christian Veiby / Stig Rune Skjærmoen into the championship run in New Zealand, Australia, Japan, Malaysia and India. As in 2016 MRF ŠKODA took top two positions, Gill driving the ŠKODA FABIA R5 to a title hat trick with Veiby finishing second.

In the Czech Championship (MČR) defending champions Jan Kopecký / Pavel Dresler continued their winning streak. Winning each rally they entered, they took the title again. Furthermore, private ŠKODA teams won titles in additional 13 countries.

The success of the ŠKODA factory team boosts the interest of the customers: More than 170 ŠKODA FABIA R5 cars were sold so far to importers and privateer teams worldwide.

Michal Hrabánek

ŠKODA Champions 2017

Pontus Tidemand

Gaurav Gill

Gustavo Saba
CODASUR & Paraguay

Manvir Baryan

Marijan Griebel
Europe (U28)

Jan Kopecký
Czech Republic

Kalle Rovanperä

Roger Feghali

Hermen Kobus
Netherlands (ONRK)

Teemu Asunmaa

Filip Nivette

Vincent Verschueren

Norbert Herczig

Socratis Tsolakidis

Burak Çukurova

Fabian Kreim

Simos Galatariotis

This website uses cookies

More information on processing of your personal data through cookies and more information about your rights may be found in the Information about processing of personal data through cookies and other web technologies. Below you may grant your consent to processing of your personal data also for the stated purposes.